Evicting tenants in Florida is a lengthy and complicated process. It's also expensive. The average eviction in the state can cost anywhere from $3,000 to $4,000.
That figure could quickly skyrocket depending on how much damage your former tenant has done to your property. Unfortunately, evictions are a fact of life for many landlords. It's essential to know how the process works to ensure the best outcome for you and your property.
This guide will discuss everything you need to know about the eviction process in Florida. Educate yourself on the rules and procedures you need to follow to end a tenancy.
Determine if It's Time to Evict a Tenant
Landlords in Florida need to have a reason to evict tenants. Your tenant needs to violate something. This can include:
- Not paying their rent
- Violating agreements in their lease
- Breaking federal, state, or local laws
- Being a nuisance to your other tenants
- It's the end of their lease or you have no lease
There are some violations that a tenant can fix within seven days of getting notice. For example, having an unauthorized pet or parking in the wrong spot are things that can get remedied so they avoid getting evicted. If the person repeats the same offense within a year, they can immediately get evicted.
What Are the Steps in the Eviction Process?
Once you've determined that you have a reason to evict a tenant, it's time to get the process started. There are certain steps you need to take with Florida evictions.
Step One — Give Them Notice
You will need to provide your tenant with written notice to begin the process. You can do this in a few different ways:
- By mail
- Leaving it in a visible place (like their front door)
You'll need to keep a signed copy of the eviction notice for your records.
Step Two — File a Lawsuit
You can move forward with filing a lawsuit if your tenant doesn't vacate the property within the notice period. They typically have three days to leave the property after getting served. You can file your eviction lawsuit online.
The complaint should include the following information:
- The property's address
- The tenant and landlord's names
- When you served their notice
- Why they're being evicted
The county sheriff or a process server will then serve the tenant once the paperwork is filed.
Step Three — Tenant Response
Your tenant has five days to contest your eviction. If they choose to contest it, it'll make the process take longer. The court might dismiss the eviction if the tenant provides a valid reason why they shouldn't get evicted.
Step Four — Court Hearing
The judge will rule in your favor if the tenant doesn't show up to the hearing. The court will issue a writ of possession if they side with the landlord. This notice gives the tenant a day to leave the property.
Once the tenant leaves, the sheriff will put a padlock on the front door. They'll be forcibly removed if they're still on the property.
Get Help With Evictions in Florida
As you can see, Florida evictions can be complicated. There are many things to do during the process. Abiding by state laws is essential to ensure you're successful in evicting your tenant.
Gulf Coast Property Management is here to assist. We offer a wide range of solutions for property owners. Contact us to learn more about our property management services in Venice, FL.